Subject: Tradeshow mgr. -we provide ALL tradeshow displays

Original e-mail retrieved from spam October 23, 2012


My first response, also copying in my manager, Aaron…

Good day Sandra,

My boss has asked me to reach out to you in regards to a new-age trade show display. He swears he was at a confectionary candy convention in New York in 2007 and saw a booth just like this, and has spent literally months searching the web and has found nothing (nor do I think he ever will) but let me describe his plan for our company’s next booth. Please don’t laugh until I’ve fully explained! 🙂

These are his objectives:

  • Booth, tables, graphics, pedestals, etc. must “float” above ground by at least 4 feet. I assume the only way to accomplish this is to hang the entire display from the ceiling using wires, but he is insistent the booth he saw was literally floating or hovering and the man running the booth was able to spin or rotate just by gently pushing it with his hand. Not only does it “look cool” and “garner mass attention”, but attendees visiting the booth would be eye-level with the bottom of the display, and his research finds no one looks down to read the display and he wants it to be very text-heavy.
  • All components of the display must be transparent, or at least 75% opaque. A glass booth is preferable, but any material would be okay.
  • There must be a glass meeting room on the ground, not floating, where it is possible to see inside the booth from out, but once inside you can’t see out… maybe just reversible mirrors projected inwardly? He insisted it is to make those inside the booth feel anxious and thereby agree to deals quicker. Can’t say I agree, but these are his words, not mine.

Finally, it has to be easy to unpack and set up without hiring a union laborer. Again I know this is impossible because each conference center is different, but let’s just pretend he could set it up himself, or perhaps with one or two other partners.

I know what you’re thinking, this is a giant joke. But he said price is not a huge concern. In addition he would need this booth on Friday in South Dakota. Is there anything that can be done?

Thank you for your time.

Ryan


Aaron’s response to the group…

Ryan,

You completely forgot about the stainless steel fruit theme. And the
stage for the dancing dentist follies kick line. I swear, it is so
hard to find good help these days.

AHP


My next response to the group…

Probably too little too late, but my boss faxed me this conceptual sketch to pass on to you. See attached. Hopefully this can provide a little more clarity on what I admit is a very unusual project.

Also he mentioned something about the fruit theme, but that is something I am working on for the graphic artwork. I will be up all night finalizing it if you have any questions.

All the best.


After waiting it out for a couple days with no reply, I chimed back in with a better conceptual graphic.

Sandra, I just spoke with the trade show convention center manager, Tip Straddler, and he green-lighted our floating booth idea! I have an idea that would work as illustrated in the graphic below. Mind you, the booth I’m using in this image is not transparent like I discussed, and there is no two-way-mirror meeting room, but I think the rest would work.

I have a friend who plays for the Milwaukee Bucks who is sending me the team’s arena blimp overnight. He says it can carry up to 50 pounds. Thoughts? How quickly could you turn this?


Hmm… still no response from Sandra! I reply yet again.

Sandra, I am sorry to bother you again but I am taking our business to GloboGraphixxx out of Swaziland.  I have their lead technician Gepetto Germain on the phone and they have guaranteed a state-of-the-art lightweight transparent floating booth delivery by noon tomorrow for just $560,020.  For their quick turn and excellent customer service, I am also giving their sales contact who initially e-mailed me a $40,000 oversized novelty check.  I am sorry you missed out on our business.  Maybe next time.


Oh, darn… Sandra didn’t buy it.

Sounds like a joke to me! You have a good imagination & are a good writer . Anyway, we would need at least 2 or 3 weeks to do something anyway if you are ever serious about getting a quote from us & we did a job for you. Art you send on disc or jpeg  has to be approved by you, & art dept. has to do the art for the display booth. Then you need a couple of days to ship it to So. Dakota or wherever it is going.  Sorry to email you 3 x. Must have sent a page through twice by accident, & your email may have been listed twice also. Have a good day.  Sandra @ Unique Advertising & Display

Leave a comment